Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Propeller Proto Board Problem — Parallax Forums

Propeller Proto Board Problem

jpylejpyle Posts: 41
edited 2008-04-11 18:20 in Propeller 1
· Hello one and all.
······ I have recieved my Propeller Proto Board and Prop Plug, and cannot get it to recognise in the Propeller Tool/Editor. I have a DC battery power source of 9v and tried 12v, after looking at the regulator specs and have the correct voltages, 5v and 3.3v, where they are·expected.·· When·I plug the "Plug" into my computer·I get
· blue--red·, blue--- red·flashes on the plug when connected to the Board or not. My computer shows Com 4 as a USB2SER device. I have loaded the correct drivers for the ft232rq. With plug in place and power on, I get "No device found on Com 4" from the editor under "identify hardware".· Not sure where to go from here.
····· I have some experiance, but by no way any kind of expert. I have been using BSIIs, Picaxe, Pics for 4+ years now and have built two dozen, or so, custom boards for datalogging, sensor connection with gyros, pressure and light sensors, accelerometers, encoders for wheel position, and the like. I set-up my own power on board with regulators,·caps, resistor bridges and any other needed components.
·······I am reluctant to "test" very much·on the board, as this is my first go-round with the Propeller. I have let the magic smoke out of , at least, my share of silicone. (My wife says ,I, myself·am a "harsh environment" when it comes to electronics!)
····· Any help at this point would be much appreciated.· Thanks, John

Comments

• Ron SutcliffeRon Sutcliffe Posts: 420
    edited 2008-04-06 06:39
    I would not use 12v, but 9v is fine. (I use 7v)
    The flashes from the prop plug are normal when you first connect it to the USB port

Check Prop tools Preferences and make sure the Port is set to Auto (select)

Ron
  • jpylejpyle Posts: 41
    edited 2008-04-06 08:15