Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Squarewave Output / Signal Modulation — Parallax Forums

Squarewave Output / Signal Modulation

Areal PersonAreal Person Posts: 197
edited 2008-04-03 02:30 in Propeller 1
Hello,
·
I’m new to electronics (Ha, Ha…Still). I need some simple/basic, help/advise.
I’ve built a nice sine wave oscillator circuit and I want to modulate it in with intelligence.
·
I would like to use my propeller to generate a square wave which represents
binary information (0 & 1’s). I will then select some modulation method (ASK, FSK etc.)
and apply the signal to my carrier wave.
·
QUESTION:
·
1)
Do I need to convert the propeller output square wave to the same wave type as my carrier before I modulate it onto the carrier (using a DAC)? Or will it automatically convert when I merge the two signals ?
·
2)
In order to generate an intelligent square wave on my Propeller do I just toggle a pin correctly based on my binary output requirements & timing? Or is there something more I need to do to get the correct square wave ?
·
Thanks,
-Areal
·
·

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
I have a tree growing out of my head, but

what do you expect ? I'm a programmer.

Comments

• stevenmess2004stevenmess2004 Posts: 1,102
    edited 2008-04-02 08:06
    1. Your signal does not need to be the same wave type. However, you may want to perform some signal conditioning to get rid of high frequency components that may be present (by using a lowpass filter). You will need a modulator though...

2. If you just want a square wave than you can either toggle the pin or you can use one of the timers. If you want to output data you could either write your own routine, use one of the existing drivers like fullDuplexSerial or you could use one of the video units so you have lots of options.
  • Areal PersonAreal Person Posts: 197
    edited 2008-04-02 15:53
    stevenmess2004 said...
    You will need a modulator though...