Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
help calling spin from assembly — Parallax Forums

help calling spin from assembly

madjackmadjack Posts: 9
edited 2008-04-01 13:08 in Propeller 1
Hello
I am new to spin and assembly programming and I’m having some difficulty with calling
back from assembly to spin.
My first program here is a hyper terminal connection in spin that loads and starts an assembly program that runs a stepper motor driver. The drives I am using are geared and are also micro stepping at 2000 resolution.· It takes 6000 steps to get one full revolution of the step motor. This drive can ramp up to a high frequency and back down & stop. It works fairly well but I need it to call back to spin at the end of the drive so that hyper terminal can tell the parent system the drive is completed, then reset the propeller. This call back is were my problem is.
To load the assembly code, with hyper terminal connected you need to;
1.)·Send an integer representing the pin the modulated out put will be on
2.)·Send a value between 1 & 79 to set a ramp, 1 = slow 79 = real fast
3.)·A value in steps from 10 to as high as the system can count representing steps
4.)·And a 1 or a zero for motor rotation that is an output at pin 0
····· All entrees followed by carriage returns
The system expects 57600 baud & no hand shaking via the “Full Duplex Serial Plus” object.
Thanks in advance to anyone willing to look at my code
Jack

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2008-03-31 20:22
    In Wait in the spin code, you have "while bizy := 0". This should be "while bizy == 0"
  • madjackmadjack Posts: 9
    edited 2008-03-31 20:34
    Hello Mike
    · I have tried it both ways and it still get hung up ·in “Wait”
    I must have more problems in my code that I can’t find
    ·Thanks for looking at it
    Do you have any other thoughts?

I just cant find what I have done and have little experiance with spin & assembly.

Jack
  • AribaAriba Posts: 2,685