Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
XRacer — Parallax Forums

XRacer

stevenmess2004stevenmess2004 Posts: 1,102
edited 2008-04-03 01:46 in Propeller 1
Has anyone been able to modify this to run on a proto board with a keyboard before I start trying?

Comments

  • JT CookJT Cook Posts: 487
    edited 2008-03-30 20:14
    You would be able to modify it to run it on a Protoboard, but not with the keyboard. There isn't enough memory to add a keyboard driver. What you would need to do is wire up your joypad interface and go that route.
  • BaggersBaggers Posts: 3,019
    edited 2008-03-30 22:59
    JT Cook you can use keyboard too, as long as you remove one of the graphics, I just removed the background, and it fit in then [noparse]:)[/noparse]

    edit: just comment after from the line after

    racer_bg000

    to the end of the file [noparse]:)[/noparse] add in keyboard

    · key.start(26,27) ' whatever pins the keyboard are on

    around the tv.start and snd.start,

    then·add

    · if(key.keystate(KB_RIGHT_ARROW))
    ·· nes_bits &=!NES0_RIGHT
    · if(key.keystate(KB_LEFT_ARROW))
    ·· nes_bits &=!NES0_LEFT
    · if(key.keystate(KB_UP_ARROW))
    ·· nes_bits &=!NES0_A
    · if(key.keystate(KB_DOWN_ARROW))
    ·· nes_bits &=!NES0_B
    · if(key.keystate(KB_ENTER))
    ·· nes_bits &=!NES0_START
    · if(key.keystate(KB_SPACE))
    ·· nes_bits &=!NES0_SELECT

    before

    · nes_bits := (!nes_bits & $FFFF)

    oh, and add

    · ' control keys
    · KB_LEFT_ARROW· = $C0
    · KB_RIGHT_ARROW = $C1
    · KB_UP_ARROW··· = $C2
    · KB_DOWN_ARROW· = $C3
    · KB_ESC········ = $CB
    · KB_SPACE······ = $20
    · KB_ENTER······ = $0D

    into the CON section

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    http://www.propgfx.co.uk/forum/·home of the PropGFX Lite



    Post Edited (Baggers) : 3/30/2008 11:06:14 PM GMT
  • stevenmess2004stevenmess2004 Posts: 1,102
    edited 2008-03-31 10:45
    Thanks. I'll try it tomorrow night. I guess the other option would be to remove the sound driver.
  • BaggersBaggers Posts: 3,019
    edited 2008-03-31 13:52
    yeah, there's that too [noparse]:D[/noparse]

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    http://www.propgfx.co.uk/forum/·home of the PropGFX Lite

    ·
  • stevenmess2004stevenmess2004 Posts: 1,102
    edited 2008-04-02 08:44
    What should the startup screen look like? I just get two lines on the screen and a very stretched light box. Also, what should the lights on the keyboard do? They just flash once and then turn off.
  • JT CookJT Cook Posts: 487
    edited 2008-04-03 01:46
    When the game starts up, it zooms the title X-Racer in and out and when you hit start, it starts the game. But if you hold down start, the game will freeze until start is released. So I am thinking that the start button in memory is set as pushed instead of not pushed in. If you still have the section of code that is trying to read the joystick ports, I would comment that out so it isn't putting in false data to interfere.
Sign In or Register to comment.