Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
USB software host controller — Parallax Forums

USB software host controller

bifferosbifferos Posts: 11
edited 2008-03-29 17:42 in Propeller 1
I'm interested in opinions on whether it is sensible to use the propeller as a USB host controller.
According to my calculations (bearing in mind I'm a complete propeller noob) the hardware is
capable of sampling a 12MHz bit stream with a few cogs and the right clock speed, so it is also
capable of 'replay' at such a rate. The cog memory seems sufficient to contain a 64-byte
USB packet, so if the transfer modes are restricted it should be possible to talk to
full-speed devices.

I'm just wondering why this hasn't been done (I can only find references to USB devices).
The overall price seems comparable to VNC1L, but with the advantage that you don't need
to use surface mount.

Any thoughts?

regds,
biff.

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2008-03-28 14:02
    USB hosting is very complicated. It's not enough to just get the bits in and out, particularly if you want to host mass storage devices where you also want to have the file system support. Commercial USB host devices also have special hardware engines for handling the low level bit stream which the Propeller would lack and this can easily and reliably handle the full rate USB 1.1 transfers where it's complex and difficult to even do that. If you would like to work on it, by all means do so, but the cost of a fully developed and tested (and supported) USB host including a mass storage file system is low enough to not justify the effort for most people. This may all change when the Prop 2 is finished with its higher speed and larger memory, but it will still probably more make sense to use at least a low level USB controller like the MAX3421E.
  • bifferosbifferos Posts: 11
    edited 2008-03-28 14:47
    Unfortunately MAX3421E is surface mount, meaning a lot more cost and hassle for someone