Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Problem with Hydra HX512KSRAM — Parallax Forums

Problem with Hydra HX512KSRAM

GiemmeGiemme Posts: 85
edited 2008-03-30 12:16 in Propeller 1
Hi

I am testing the Hydra 512K Sram with following code. This code should write a byte into the address 0000 and then read it back ( nothing impossible :-(

OBJ
· VGA··················· : "VGA_Text"
· SRAM512K··········· : "HX512KSRAM_ASM_DRV_010.spin"

PUB Start

' Initialise the SRAM card
· SRAM512K.SRAM_Start_ASM_Driver(%000_11_11)

' Initialise the values
· Address := $0000
· bytVal := 81

'· SRAM512K.SRAM_LoadAddr64K_A($0000) ' Fetching the memory didn't bring to much :-(

' write a byte into the address
· SRAM512K.SRAM512K.SRAM_Write64K_A(Address, bytVal )

' Read the byte from the address·
· bytVal := SRAM512K.SRAM_Read64K_A(Address)

· VGA.str(string("$"))
· VGA.hex(Address, 4)
· VGA.str(string(": "))
· VGA.hex(bytVal, 2)

Expected result should be 81 but I usually get 04 !!
What did I wrong?? Any Idea?
I don't think that the card is broken because its leds are flashing properly.

Thanks in advance·if you can help me.
Regards
Gianni

Post Edited (Giemme) : 3/25/2008 7:24:34 AM GMT

Comments

  • Jasper_MJasper_M Posts: 222
    edited 2008-03-25 10:19
    Try giving the card some time to initialize, add eg. waitcnt(8_000_000 + cnt) after SRAM512K.SRAM_Start_ASM_Driver(%000_11_11). The ASM driver needs some time to load to the cog and program the SRAM.
  • GiemmeGiemme Posts: 85
    edited 2008-03-25 10:53
    Thanks Jasper

    I will try tonight

    Regards

    Gianni
  • JT CookJT Cook Posts: 487
    edited 2008-03-25 13:54
    I don't think you can use both VGA and an expansion card because·I believe they·both use the same bus lines. I think if you are using the 512k card you need to use the TV as output.
  • Jasper_MJasper_M Posts: 222
    edited 2008-03-25 15:45
    Ah, that's true too. Didn't notice that. You can't use VGA with an expansion card.
  • AndreLAndreL Posts: 1,004
    edited 2008-03-25 18:47
    The VGA is used for my bus [noparse]:)[/noparse] So only one at a time.

    Andre'
  • GiemmeGiemme Posts: 85
    edited 2008-03-25 20:21
    hi Andre'

    thanks for this information.

    mmmhh now I have to buy a tv :-( and my desk doesn't have a lot of space.

    Questions:
    how many pins not used by the memory card are still available? are there any pins (TV, Audio, Net, etc) that I can cannibalize??

    what if I use a second propeller that generates the vga output?

    Regards

    Gianni
  • Jasper_MJasper_M Posts: 222
    edited 2008-03-25 20:34
    In the expansion port there are USB TXd and I2C bus for the EEPROM. 3 pins in total. Then you could use the NES gamepad pins if you don't need them, 4 extra pins. Mouse has two pins. But neither mouse nor gamepad pins are available on the expansion card. And you can't use these for VGA, because you'd need 8 pins that are right next to each other.

    Using another propeller pretty much negates the advantage of having SRAM, at least for using the SRAM as display buffer. Unless the SRAM is connected to the bvideo generating prop of course.
  • GiemmeGiemme Posts: 85
    edited 2008-03-25 20:42
    not so much...
    ...as alternative remains a video2vga converter
    http://www.svideo.com/video2vga.html
    or
    http://www.aver.com/mpd/tvbox9_spec.html

    Regards
    Gianni

    Post Edited (Giemme) : 3/25/2008 8:54:39 PM GMT
  • Jasper_MJasper_M Posts: 222
    edited 2008-03-25 20:49
    Or a video capture device maybe (some TV card?) Be sure to check it's real time enough if you decide to buy one.
  • GiemmeGiemme Posts: 85
    edited 2008-03-30 07:11
    Hi All

    this is the workaround to the problem when you are using the hx512ksram, you cannot use the vga and you don't have a TV.

    I found this TV2VGA card that recognize NTCS and PAL signal (so I don't have to convert the video driver)

    http://www.grand.com.tw/tvpc_console2.html·

    for 120 swiss francs = 120$· (the dollar is almost 1 to 1 with the swiss francs!!·A good reason to make another trip to the states and buy a lot of gadgeds...)

    Additionally the card allows Picture on Picture (this is helpfull if you have only one vga output)

    Idea!! why we don't build a propeller tv2vga converter???

    Now I can continue with my zx81 emulator project.


    See you

    Gianni


    P.S.Are there any solutions to have more resolutions on tv than 256x192??

    Post Edited (Giemme) : 3/30/2008 7:20:50 AM GMT
    615 x 461 - 79K
    615 x 461 - 52K
  • ForrestForrest Posts: 1,341
    edited 2008-03-30 12:16
    That converter looks a lot like this one - though there's no mention of PAL compatibility www.geeks.com/details.asp?invtid=TV-BOX-HD

    Considering this one costs $47.99 - it looks like gadgets are cheaper on this side of the pond.
Sign In or Register to comment.