Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Hi newbie question about electronics — Parallax Forums

Hi newbie question about electronics

cameroncameron Posts: 33
edited 2008-05-18 00:20 in Learn with BlocklyProp
Hi here is my issue sorry I am really new at this. I have a basic stamp with a power supply running at 5Volts DC with 50mA.

How can I reduce my current but keep the 5volts. I was going to use a resistor but then I thought if I resisted the current it would also resist the voltage. Is this correct how should I go about this thanks.

Cameron.

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2008-03-13 15:36
    I assume that you've measured the current and that's where you got the 50mA figure. I also assume that you would like to reduce the amount of current drawn, probably because you're running the Stamp off batteries and you'd like the batteries to last longer. You are right about a resistor reducing the voltage as well as the current.

When the Stamp is running at full speed it requires some tens of mA to work. You can't really reduce this although you can make the Stamp shut down for periods of time and reduce the average amount of current drawn. Keep in mind that any I/O (like LEDs) attached to the Stamp will draw current and that will add to the current needed by the Stamp. You'll need to switch off any external devices like LEDs when they're not needed unless they already drop into low power mode when they're not in use.

Look at the chapter in the Parallax Basic Stamp Manual on the NAP and SLEEP statements. These will put the Stamp to sleep for a specified period of time and reduce the amount of current drawn to microAmps for that period of time. If the Stamp spends most of its time asleep and only wakes up occasionally to check the status of pushbuttons or other sensors, then the average amount of current used will be much lower than the 50mA you mentioned.
  • cameroncameron Posts: 33
    edited 2008-03-13 15:40
    HI Mike,