Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Low Resolution vision — Parallax Forums

Low Resolution vision

LustInBlackLustInBlack Posts: 22
edited 2008-03-14 01:30 in Propeller 1
I'm currently on my first project on the propeller..

I have problems, since I'm new to this mcu, I have some issues..

I have a 8-bit Shift register that select between 8 photosensors, it select a photosensor, then
with a sigma/delta ADC get the value of the photosensor..

This work perfectly with only one photosensor..

My shift register works, I tested it with leds and I see the leds being shifted across the shift register.

It then selects a photosensor, wait a bit, take a measure of the ADC and apply that value to a color
array that I output on a computer monitor (The screen is setup at 256 x 256 pixels) ..

I can visually inspect the return value... This works pretty well with one photosensor.. The value
for testing, is acceptable, and that's on a breadboard.

The problem occurs when I have 8 leds on the shift register.. It seems that the value of ALL leds
together, is the average of every led values ..

However, I do treat each value separately, since I keep the adc sample in an array, and I know what
photosensor I am currently monitoring ..

I find this a bit strange, maybe it has to do with my circuit, but as I see it, it should work..
The shift register, provide the 3.3 volts voltage source to my photosensors, the photosensors and then
connected to a voltage divider, to get between 1 and 3.3 volts output value..
The ADC is exactly as the propeller application note..

Here is the sampling code..

It's ugly for the moment, excuse that code atrocity!

It begins with the shift register DATA input High..

mov  adc_cnt, cnt 
        add  adc_cnt, adc_cycles
        mov  nTmp2, #8
        mov  nTmp3, ColorPtr
        mov  nTmp4, SavedSample
        mov  tmp, #0
  :loop waitcnt adc_cnt, adc_cycles 
        mov     adc_sample,  phsa  
        sub      adc_sample,  tmp