Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Controlling a servo — Parallax Forums

Controlling a servo

TinCansAssocTinCansAssoc Posts: 9
edited 2008-03-14 12:59 in Propeller 1
Hi, I'm new at using my propeller and I'm trying a few basic projects to learn more about it. right now I'm trying to control a servo, but I haven't found how to do it. Could someone help me out with so me code for controlling a standard servo. I'm confused on what the best commands are for doing this with the propeller chip. (I'm starting with the propeller education kit, and a servo)
Thanks, this will be much appreciated.

Comments

• Goska (OSURC)Goska (OSURC) Posts: 3
    edited 2008-03-07 16:30
    I'd recommend looking at the servo32v3 object. It can handle all of the servo control in a new cog and you just send it positions. The documentation within the object is very good. Start there and see if that will work for you. If not, you can always write your own, you just have to send a pulse to the signal line of the servo (for most, analog, servos).
  • deSilvadeSilva Posts: 2,967
    edited 2008-03-07 16:31
    There are zillions of Objects doing this - I think.

I generally use my own code of a few lines...
    Here a link to some general PWM Tutorial
    propeller.wikispaces.com/PWM
    which will soon lead you back to a tutorial somewhere burried here in this forum...

I might use your questions to improve some of it..
  • JerryAJerryA Posts: 11
    edited 2008-03-11 07:24
    Hi there:
    I am using the servo32 object to control 3 servos in an insect style robot based on the book Insectronics by
    Karl Williams. My ultimate goal however is to build a homebrew version of a hex crawler similar to the
    Crust Crawler or Nomad. Therein lies my problem with servo32. According to my reading of it's self-documentation
    it is capable of controlling up to 32 servos with a single cog and I do not see how this could be possible for the following