Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Counters and traditional PLLs — Parallax Forums

Counters and traditional PLLs

stevenmess2004stevenmess2004 Posts: 1,102
edited 2008-03-10 15:39 in Propeller 1
I am currently studying PLLs at tafe and have some questions about the timers.

Am I correct that in the PLL modes the output comes straight from the PLL which is linked to bit 31 of PHSA? This means that (ignoring the 160MHz limit) we can get 40MHz*16=640MHz out.

In traditional plls you have a
[noparse][[/noparse]phase comparator]->---[noparse][[/noparse]filter/amp]--->----[noparse][[/noparse]vco]---->-output
.                  |                                                     |
.                  |                                                     |
.                   ---<-----[noparse][[/noparse]divide by N]--------------<---

From the picture that deSilva posted what is in the propeller is (in PLL mode)
[noparse][[/noparse]system clock]------[noparse][[/noparse]?]-------[noparse][[/noparse]phase comparator]-----[noparse][[/noparse]vco]---[noparse][[/noparse]/1 or 2 or 4 or 8 or 16]---output
.                                                   |                          |
.                                                   |                          |
.                                                    ----[noparse][[/noparse]/16]------------

Is this correct and is there an easy way to describe what is in the [noparse][[/noparse]?] block? Does anyone know how fast the PLL responds? It also seems like it would be useful to be able to hook the output of one timer to the input of another (like using one of the logic modes) to help generate more frequencies without glitches. Can this be done?

Edit: forum ate the spaces. lets hope its fixed now...

I have Andre's book on order so if all of the answers are in there than don't worry about a reply if you don't want to smile.gif