Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Loading eeprom and/or ram errors.. — Parallax Forums

Loading eeprom and/or ram errors..

RontopiaRontopia Posts: 139
edited 2008-03-05 02:51 in Propeller 1
hi guys.. I am having trouble loading a file in to the eeprom. when I try to load this code which is from one of the labs.. i think its the methods lab, I get this..

Cannot find source file: c:\Program Files\Parrallax Inc\Propeller\Propeller Tool v1.01.5\Examples\Labs\TextMessages.spin

the code is

''File: CogStartStopWithButtons
''Launches methods into cogs and stops the cogs within loop structures that
''are advanced by pushbuttons

VAR
······· long stack[noparse][[/noparse]60]
PUB ButtonBlinkTime | time, index, cog[noparse][[/noparse]6]
··· repeat
······· repeat index from 0 to 5
······· time := ButtonTime(23)
······· cog[noparse][[/noparse]index] := cognew(Blink(index + 4, time, 1_000_000), @stack[noparse][[/noparse]index * 10])
·······
··· repeat index from 5 to 0
······· ButtonTime(23)
······· cogstop (cog[noparse][[/noparse]index])

PUB Blink(pin, rate, reps)
··· dira[noparse][[/noparse]pin]~~
··· outa[noparse][[/noparse]pin]~

··· repeat reps * 2
······· waitcnt(rate/2 + cnt)
······· !outa[noparse][[/noparse]pin]

PUB ButtonTime(pin) : delta | time1, time2
··· repeat until ina[noparse][[/noparse]pin] == 1
··· time1 := cnt
··· repeat until ina[noparse][[/noparse]pin] == 0
··· time2 := cnt
··· delta := time2 - time1
···

any light at all? to me it seems like I should have a TextMessages.spin File? what is that and where do I get it?

also when I load it in to the ram.. I get nothing. it looks like the program loaded but the program does not run even tho there seems to be no complile errors.

thanks

·

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔



IC layout designer
Austin Texas

Comments

  • tpw_mantpw_man Posts: 276
    edited 2008-03-04 21:33
    Looks like there is no object it is supposed to need. It might be the PropTool. I notice you are using a fairly old version. The latest version is 1.06.

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    I am 1010, so be surprised!
  • RontopiaRontopia Posts: 139
    edited 2008-03-04 21:47
    i just uninstalled the old version and installed the new one.. 1.06. and im still getting the exact error.. I blew away the old dir and for whatever reason when I try to load the eprom something somewhere is still lookin for something in that other dir.

    I would really like to understand this.

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔



    IC layout designer
    Austin Texas
  • Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2008-03-04 22:08
    This problem has absolutely nothing to do with the Spin code you've listed. It's difficult to tell what sequence occurred from your description.
    The error message sounds correct. Somehow the Propeller Tool thinks your source program should be in a particular place with a particular name and there's nothing there with that name.

    I suggest you locate the file you want to use with the Windows File Explorer and double click on that file to force the Propeller Tool to start using that file, then use the file window on the left in the Propeller Tool to find the directory and the file that you want and re-open the file that way. This will force the Propeller Tool to start with a known good file, then reset its internal file information to match so that it will open with that file in the future (until you change it).
  • Harrison.Harrison. Posts: 484
    edited 2008-03-04 23:29
    My guess is you are using 'Compile Top' instead of just 'Compile Current'. You probably set TextMessages.spin as your 'Top Object File' which is why it keeps coming back up. The top object file location is saved in the registry and is preserved across program reinstalls, reboots, etc.

    Just hit F10 to load to ram and F11 to load to eeprom. No need to bother with the top file stuff if you are running into problems when using it.
  • RontopiaRontopia Posts: 139
    edited 2008-03-05 02:51
    thanks guys I will give it a try tommorrow.. my prop is on my desk at work[noparse]:)[/noparse]

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔



    IC layout designer
    Austin Texas
Sign In or Register to comment.