Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Has anyone ever thought about porting SPIN to the PC? — Parallax Forums

Has anyone ever thought about porting SPIN to the PC?

MarkSMarkS Posts: 342
edited 2008-02-29 15:10 in Propeller 1
I know that this is a very strange question, but after playing around with this language I find that I REALLY like it! I understand that its current implementation is limited by the Prop, but that wouldn't be an issue in Windows. I think it would be a fun and rather easy OOP language to work with outside the Prop, with suitable expansions and features necessary for Windows.

Anyway, enough crazy rambling.

Comments

• mosquito56mosquito56 Posts: 387
    edited 2008-02-28 22:23
    ··· Not sure about crazy. In some computer science degrees one class is totally devoted to writing a language from scratch. This is considered an advanced class maybe graduate level but since I graduated so many years ago and only taught high school math and basic computers it may be an undergraduate requirement now.

·With vbasic, C, C++ available free it may be a fun project but not alot of need out there.

·If it floats your boat, go for it...

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    ·······

······· "What do you mean, it doesn't have any tubes?"
    ······· "No such thing as a dumb question" unless it's on the internet
    ········
  • StefanL38StefanL38 Posts: 2,292
    edited 2008-02-28 23:28
    Hello Mark,

did you ever take a look at Delphi ?

c++ is more cryptic to read than Delphi. Compared to SPIN Delphi has much more OOP Opportunities !

What's better in SPIN than in Delphi is the effective way of creating blocks of code by indenting

Here SPIN forces everybody to write in a good formatted way

In Delphi you have to write
    begin .... end for every block

So a Delphi derivate with indenting instead of begin ... end would be my absolute favorite for programming on PCs !

greetings

Stefan
  • MikeKMikeK Posts: 118
    edited 2008-02-29 01:33