Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Xtal1 + pll16x — Parallax Forums

Xtal1 + pll16x

PaulFPaulF Posts: 62
edited 2008-06-28 04:31 in Propeller 1
Hi, I'm new to the Prop and I'm really looking forward to using this high spec chip. I am working my way through the Propellor manual, but i can't get the Blinker2.spin object to work when I set _CLKMODE = XTAL1 + PLL16X.
It works when I use XTAL1 + PLL8X.
I have also tried to use Debug_Lcd_Test which also uses XTAL1 + PLL16X but no joy there either. Any suggestions?

Comments

• QuattroRS4QuattroRS4 Posts: 916
    edited 2008-02-24 11:10
    followed by .....

_xinfreq = 5_000_000

if the board you have is based on a 5MHz crystal as some (hydra) has a 10MHz Crystal

JT

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    'Necessity is the mother of invention'
  • PaulFPaulF Posts: 62
    edited 2008-02-24 11:18
    Hi QuattroRS4,
    yes i have _xinfreq = 5_000_000. The crystal is a 5Mhz, as I said the program runs fine with xtal1 + pll8x but not with xtal1 + pll16x.
  • QuattroRS4QuattroRS4 Posts: 916
    edited 2008-02-24 11:24
    can you post your code ? .. Sounds a bit odd !

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    'Necessity is the mother of invention'
  • deSilvadeSilva Posts: 2,967
    edited 2008-02-24 11:25
    (a) When you say you are a "newbie" then many things can be the cause.. In most cases those are minor misunderstandings that are obvious when seeing the complete code!

(b) There are situations when the crystal is not connected correctly or malfunctioning. In that case the Propeller is using a rather undefined frequency... This might work with some PLL-values and not with others...

So can you make sure the Processor runs at 40Mhz with your setting? This needs no special equipment, but rather the observation of the LED blinking, and recalculating the delay!

----
    Edit:

(c) There are some crystals that better work with XTAL2 but this is rare....

Post Edited (deSilva) : 2/24/2008 11:32:06 AM GMT
    edited 2008-02-24 11:36