Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Help with strings — Parallax Forums

Help with strings

joeldjoeld Posts: 49
edited 2008-02-20 16:38 in Propeller 1
I've been reading the Prop manual and am kind of stumped on the correct way to implement a string function in Spin. I'm new at Spin and haven't programmed much recently so as simple as this may sound I still need some help.

I am taking a floating point value (temp from sensirion), using the FloatToFormat command out of the Float object to convert the number into a string of fixed length.·My goal is to write a method that will take the string length and variable as inputs and output characters one at a time to a uOLED display. I was thinking a conditional loop that would run the number of iteration as characters in the screen. I'm not finding much info on working with strings in the prop manual. I see how to get the starting address. Can I somehow reference the following addresses somewhat like an array?

Any help getting pointed in the right direction would be appreciated.

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2008-02-19 20:49
    Yes, you can reference the string as an array. For example, if you have a method parameter called "strAddr" which contains the address of the start of the string, you can refer to the bytes of the string with "byte[noparse][[/noparse] strAddr ] [noparse][[/noparse] i ]" where "i" is the index into the array starting at zero. Look at the "str" method in any of the display objects or in FullDuplexSerial for an example of what you want.
  • joeldjoeld Posts: 49
    edited 2008-02-19 22:03
    Thanks for the start. Here's what I've tried so far:

PUB displayString(row, col, length, s) : Index
    repeat Index from 0 to length -1
    oled.putChar(byte[noparse][[/noparse]@s][noparse][[/noparse]Index++],col,row,1, 255,255,255)
    col++