Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Total Newbie Question: Powered Amp Connected to the Prop? — Parallax Forums

Total Newbie Question: Powered Amp Connected to the Prop?

dfletchdfletch Posts: 165
edited 2008-02-20 22:19 in Propeller 1
Hi all. I'd like to build something like this:

www.aaroncake.net/circuits/amp20w.asp

Is it safe to plug the output of a low pass filter connected to the prop into "Right In" or "Left In" in that diagram?

1 channel example:

+3.3v                                       +12v
          |                                           |
          v                                           v
     [noparse][[/noparse]Propeller] p10 ---> [noparse][[/noparse]low pass filter] ---> [noparse][[/noparse]amp input]
          |                       |                   |
          +-----------------------+                   |
          |                                           |
          .                                           .
          -                                           -
          _                                           _

-3.3v                                        -12v

Is it OK to connect the grounds as the linked diagram hints? Do I need additional circuitry between that LP filter and the amp for protection? If so, how hardcore does the protection need to be - e.g. could it just be a load resistor or would I need something like an optocoupler?

After frying a set of AA batteries so badly that they leaked the last time I tried to connect 2 independent power sources, I thought I'd ask for some help this time smile.gif

One question unrelated to the power supply: Could I stick a 10K dual potentiometer in between the filters and the amp for volume control? If not, where would a better place be?

Thanks for the help and your patience with a newbie!

UPDATE: cleaned up original diagram.

Post Edited (dfletch) : 2/20/2008 2:31:33 AM GMT

Comments

• Paul BakerPaul Baker Posts: 6,351
    edited 2008-02-19 23:40