Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
uOLED 96 prop problem getting started — Parallax Forums

uOLED 96 prop problem getting started

joeldjoeld Posts: 49
edited 2008-02-21 02:08 in Propeller 1
I'm apparently making some very basic mistake getting started with the uOLED. I'm also new to the propeller and thought this would be a good hardware platform to experiment on.

I wired up the uOLED and it ran the demo just fine. I attached a prop plug and that also worked fine. I'm assuming that because it would identify the hardware. Selecting Identify Hardware seemed to also cause a reset of the uOLED.

I downloaded the Demo v4 file, the uOLED driver and the latest Clock files off the parallax website.· I opened all three in the propeller tool, set the Demo file as the top file and compliled. All compiled without error. Then I compiled to RAM. The uOLED device blanked and stopped working. I tried this several times. Identifying hardware or a power reset would bring it back no doubt reloading the original software from eeprom.

Then in a less then briliant act I complied to eeprom and now it's completely dead. I'm obviously loading up bad software. Am I missing something obvious??

Thanks

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2008-02-18 16:53
    Try downloading uOLED-96-Prop Basic from the Propeller Object Exchange, then download it to your uOLED. This is another program for the uOLED that's known to work. There's a pre-compiled binary file included that you should try first.
  • DufferDuffer Posts: 374
    edited 2008-02-18 19:13
    joeld,

CAUTION! The Prop Plug will not work directly with the uOLED-96-PROP. The 5 pin interface of the 96-PROP is different from the 4-pin Prop Plug interface. You could damage the display, the Prop Plug or both it you try to plug the Prop Plug directly into the 96-PROP interface.

Take a closer look at the interface pin outs for both devices.

Steve
  • joeldjoeld Posts: 49
    edited 2008-02-18 20:03