Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Help needed for a newbie for creating a user friendly interface — Parallax Forums

Help needed for a newbie for creating a user friendly interface

YannickYannick Posts: 5
edited 2008-02-18 06:27 in Propeller 1
Hi,

Parallax is completely new to me and I have problems to get started.

I want to make a user friendly interface using a keyboard, a mouse and a VGA monitor. The names of·different parameters should be listed on the screen with for each a small box on the right. I would like to be able to access a box with·the mouse and write·a value with the keyboard in the box. A button at the bottom of the screen would save the values when pressed with the mouse.

I started learning with the demo board and I finished the tutorial. I also checked different code samples that uses the mouse and the keyboard on the TV. Can someone help me to get started with the VGA monitor,the keyboard and the mouse at the same time? Or if you have any idea how to make such an interface. Thanks a lot!

Yannick

Comments

• b.p.m.b.p.m. Posts: 59
    edited 2008-02-16 05:40
    hey yannick,
    i'm a total newbie, too. but i think you should check out PropellerLife for ideas on how to implement what you are trying to do. it's only mouse and VGA, but it seems to me it a good place to start if you want to code a basic GUI. it even has it's own small font.

blake

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    "Can't sleep, clown will eat me."
    Bart Simpson
  • stevenmess2004stevenmess2004 Posts: 1,102
    edited 2008-02-16 05:45
    I have done a basic window manager (http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=705864) (see the last post for the latest version) for a TV but it doesn't work with VGA or a keyboard or mouse yet. There is another that has been done for VGA and I'll try and find it in a minute...
  • stevenmess2004stevenmess2004 Posts: 1,102
    edited 2008-02-16 06:02
    I can't find the thread so I hope that Raymond doesn't if I post the code smile.gif