Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
newbie needs help getting PropDos running — Parallax Forums

newbie needs help getting PropDos running

b.p.m.b.p.m. Posts: 59
edited 2008-02-24 05:10 in Propeller 1
hi, total prop newbie here. i am having trouble getting PropDos to
run on my demoboard. i have a SD socket i harvested from a dollar
store cardreader hooked up to pins 0...3 as per the Protoboard
Cookbook specs sans any pulldown resistors.
PropDos recognizes the SD card and keyboard then gives me a SD:>
prompt... for a third of a second. it then resets everytime.
i don't think it is the socket or card as i have had no trouble running
the HSS player from the EEPROM and loading and playing songs off the
card. just in case i tried 10K pulldown resisters on the data and control
lines; it only caused PropDos NOT to recognize the SD card.
anyone got any idea what i might be doing wrong?
(i enclose a shot of my setup below)

blake

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
"Can't sleep, clown will eat me."
Bart Simpson
2576 x 1920 - 472K

Comments

• Oldbitcollector (Jeff)Oldbitcollector (Jeff) Posts: 8,091
    edited 2008-02-16 01:32
    Ok, so the keyboard and SD card being detected seemly correctly otherwise you would get an error at startup.
    Not sure why it should reboot... Tell me a little more about the dollarstore SD card reader. What did you
    pull this from? Also, would you run down your connections as I don't own a demoboard and can't make out
    the connections.

OBC

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    New to the Propeller?

Getting started with the Protoboard? - Propeller Cookbook
    Got an SD card? - PropDOS
    A Living Propeller FAQ - The Propeller Wiki
    (Got the Knowledge? Got a Moment? Add something today!)

edited 2008-02-16 02:03
    Best I can make out from your image is that you are using P0,P1,P2 and P7 for the SD card.
    I'll wait for you to clarify this a bit.

OBC

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    New to the Propeller?

• b.p.m.b.p.m. Posts: 59