Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Introduction — Parallax Forums

Introduction

dfletchdfletch Posts: 165
edited 2008-03-05 00:39 in Propeller 1
Hi everyone. You probably noticed a couple recent posts I've made. Before I continue bombing the forums and obex with software, I thought I'd tell you all a little about me.

For many years I've been a software programmer. I was inspired very early on in my life by computers. Around that time I was heavily into Dungeons and Dragons and what I realized was that software was like a D&D module - it expands the core system to do something new that nobody ever thought of before. Interestingly, this can be done with very little physical interaction with electronics components and without understanding the exact details of the hardware. Wow was that philosophy wrong! Well half-wrong. I still very much appreciate the ability to extend my system (of course!) but lately I've been feeling the need to get "down & dirty" and really understand (and build!) things.

In the 70's, very early in my life (before age 10) I played incessantly with my 101-in-1 Electronics Kit and remote controlled cars (the kind you build, not the kind you buy!). Since starting computer programming though, that hobby fell by the wayside, and it's been software for decades. Most recently I write PHP software in Drupal for my day gig. As my profile says "I make a pretty pink site prettier and pinker every day!" smile.gifwww.splendora.com