Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
uOLED-96 and Spin problem — Parallax Forums

uOLED-96 and Spin problem

wackowacko Posts: 10
edited 2008-02-06 10:38 in Propeller 1
Hi everyone,

I'm new at this Propeller thing and I'm currently trying to get some basic stuff working with the uOLED-96.
So the code below is just some testing. The problem is that the second cog does the counting but not the the text output. If I call the count method directly it works. Any idea what I'm doing wrong?
ThanX

VAR
long stack[noparse][[/noparse]50],x

OBJ
OLED : "uOLED-96-Prop_V4"
DELAY : "Clock"

PUB Main

DELAY.Init(8_000_000)

OLED.InitOLED
OLED.CLS

x:=0

OLED.putText(0,0,0,255,0,80,string("starting new cog"))
DELAY.pauseSec(2)
cognew(count(@x),@stack)
DELAY.pauseMSec(5)
OLED.putChar(x,0,2,0,255,20,0)
DELAY.pauseSec(2)

PUB count (xAddr)
repeat 68
long[noparse][[/noparse]XAddr]++
OLED.putText(0,0,0,255,0,80,string("message from cog 1"))

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2008-02-02 21:08
    The problem is that every cog has its own input/output registers. When you call OLED.InitOLED, you initialize the registers for the cog that's calling InitOLED. When you start another cog, those registers are initialized all to input mode. The call to putText won't work because that cog can't change the output pins going to the display. If you just call OLED.InitOLED from the second cog, it may not work either because now both cogs will attempt to control the output pins and the one with its output register set to one bits will take over.

It is possible to write I/O drivers so more than one cog can use the device, but it requires extra care and some use of "locks" or "semaphores" as they're called to make sure that both cogs are not trying to do different things at the same time.
  • wackowacko Posts: 10
    edited 2008-02-02 21:32