Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
(Slightly OT) Linux Programming — Parallax Forums

(Slightly OT) Linux Programming

JT CookJT Cook Posts: 487
edited 2008-02-23 16:22 in Propeller 1
Right now I am in my second semester of a 2 year program to become a network admin. In my second semester I have a Linux admin class and a C programming class, which uses a Linux live cd for the environment (Knoppix 5.1.1). I have always been curious about Linux and played around with a few live CDs, but never really used it. Now with the C programming class we just use the terminal (text prompt like DOS), GCC for compiling, and VIM for editing. Well since I know C, I figured I spend most of my lecture time trying to get SDL to install. Well that failed pretty miserably for a few classes so I desided to look to see if I could find a Linux live distro with SDL dev libraries already installed on it. With little searching I found that the same distro I had included exactly what I was looking for! So I find a quick Linux SDL tutorial and got my first window to pop up.

Most of my windows stuff is done in SDL, so I desided to try an port stuff over, and it worked with great ease. I even ported over my C64 emulator in about an hour. The only thing that wasn't included were the routines where you could choose from a list of carts/t64/prg files to load up(that was Win32 specific anyway).

There is something satisfying about having a completely free and legal programming environment in the form of a bootable CD. In a sense it is pretty freeing, and pretty cool that I can go into the computer, pop in a CD and a pen drive and start programming.

Programming has really been the one thing that has kept me tied to Windows, but after playing with this I could see the transition to it becoming my primary OS happening at some point.

(Now to the on topic part)