Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Stabilization — Parallax Forums

Stabilization

bigbearchopperbigbearchopper Posts: 6
edited 2008-01-28 09:25 in Propeller 1
I am new at the Propeller chip and just starting to read about how to program it. My main reason to switching to the Propeller chip from the Basic Stamp PX is I have an application where I have two motors that control a pointer that needs to be stabilization on a rolling vehicle. To give an idea of the size I am talking about the motors have 400 in/lb of torque and run through a 50 to 1 worm gear. The pointer has a camera on the end and I need to stabilize this pointer so the camera can be viewed while driving. I do not know 'specs' to say what the stabilization needs to be, but it needs to be fairly fine. So, can the Propeller chip handle such a task, and how big of task is it going to be to write the program?

Thank you for helping a beginner at this.

Comments

• RinksCustomsRinksCustoms Posts: 531
    edited 2008-01-28 03:19
    I think I understand what your getting at, and I can suggest to keep the main program sweet and short would be to use a digital helicopter gyro controlling a digital coreless servo, using a pwm signal from the prop for the cameras pointing. The gyro (on one axis) will stabalize the camera once calibrated corectly. Ex.- if you setup the gyro to stabalize the Y axis, then it should all but eliminate the verticle bumps from your viewpoint.

However if you have a 3 axis camera stability system in mind, would require a dynamic suspension system either mechanically or electronically. Electro-mechanical approach would probably require the camera be mounted to a 3-axis motorized arm or table using 3 stepper motors, a 3-axis accelerometer, and a bit of creative programming to dynamically stabalize the camera.