Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Reading Pot. values. any suggestions — Parallax Forums

Reading Pot. values. any suggestions

DgswanerDgswaner Posts: 795
edited 2008-01-26 10:29 in Propeller 1
I'm familiar with reading an input for a pin, but what I want to do is read the resistance value from a Pot. the value doesn't need to the actual resistance but just some linear value range.

I want to be able to adjust the speed of my bot, and the distance threshold for the PING sensor, i.e. how close it will get to an object before it turns. I want to be able to do this with out having to reprogram the propeller. so if distance < Pot. value + threshold turn. this will allow me to compensate for different locations and conditions.

could someone recommend a method or circuit for doing this. I'm just learning about A/D converts, but I have no idea how to choose which one to use or if it's even the best solution.

Thanks in advance.

p.s. this of course will be done on a propeller chip.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
"A complex design is the sign of an inferior designer." - Jamie Hyneman, Myth Buster

DGSwaner

Comments

• deSilvadeSilva Posts: 2,967
    edited 2008-01-25 00:35
    Have a look here http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=617192 All you need and even more...
  • Paul BakerPaul Baker Posts: 6,351
    edited 2008-01-25 01:00
    The easiest method is to create an RC circuit where your potentiometer is the resistor and is connected to ground on the other terminal. You charge the capacitor by setting the pin to output and high, switch the pin to input and measure how long it takes to go low, this number is correlated to the resistance of the potentiometer.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Paul Baker
    Propeller Applications Engineer

Parallax, Inc.
  • DgswanerDgswaner Posts: 795
    edited 2008-01-25 04:43
    Thanks Paul, I'll do some experimenting with that.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔