Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
H-Bridge Question — Parallax Forums

H-Bridge Question

DroneDrone Posts: 433
edited 2008-01-21 11:20 in Propeller 1
I want to drive a two winding bipolar stepper motor with the propeller with a pair of H-bridges. I have a bunch of spare IRF740 MOSFETS (see figure attached). I want to use the MOSFETS in-place of the NPN transistors in the attached H-Bridge schematic.

Question: Since the IRF740 MOSFETs have an internal zener across the drain and source, do you think I can eliminate the 1N4004 protection diodes in the H-bridge schematic? This is my first time dealing with these parts.

Edit: In my first post I forgot to add credit for the H-Bridge.jpg circuit attached to Jason Johnson. I scraped the diagram from his excellent stepper tutorial page (circa 1998) at:

http://eio.com/jasstep.htm.

Thanks, David

Post Edited (Drone) : 1/20/2008 5:16:52 PM GMT
549 x 233 - 23K
551 x 349 - 31K

Comments

• Peter JakackiPeter Jakacki Posts: 10,193
    edited 2008-01-19 13:02
    Those IRF470 parts aren't all that rugged for low-voltage high current stuff as they are designed for high-voltage. The biggest worry though is the Vgs(th) gate threshold which although they might quote a figure of around 3V it is only for a 250ua load!! Beware, you will need around 8V to drive the gate on the bottom transistors and +8 above the supply voltage to drive the top transistors. So that means if you are driving +12V motors then you need at least +20V for the high-side drive as the high-side needs to see +8V across it's gate and source while it's source is sitting at +12V (you do want it to switch right up to the supply don't you).

I typically do this driving with common LM358 opamps to translate the logic levels while I power the opamp from a voltage doubler made up of a 555 timer.