Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Low Current Relays / Schematics — Parallax Forums

Low Current Relays / Schematics

ValchrisValchris Posts: 3
edited 2008-01-18 18:51 in Learn with BlocklyProp
Hello,
I'm in my last year of high school engineering and have been working on a fairly extensive robotic project. Right now I've been stonewalled by a problem with parallax not having enough power to switch relays. We previously had 12v relays (and i need 10 of them). I acquired 5v relays the other day but have been unable to come up with a schematic on how to wire them. There made by Omron, and even searching the Omron site they seem to not exist! The closest thing we could find to our relays is in this pdf i attached. On page 5 An image is shown of a g5AK-237P. (Our Relays are g5AK-237P-27) I cannot understand the schematic. If anyone could be of assistance in giving me a better idea of what pins are what i would greatly appreciate it!. Thanks in advance
pdf
G5A.pdf 135.6K

Comments

• allanlane5allanlane5 Posts: 3,815
    edited 2008-01-17 16:07
    A typical Relay Driver chip would be a Darlington chip, ULN2008 or so. This has its own connection to Vdd, and can drive MUCH more current than the BS2 I/O pins.
  • KMoffettKMoffett Posts: 7
    edited 2008-01-17 16:19
    What you have are two-coil latching relays. These require a brief ( >5.0mSec) 5 volt pulse on the SET coil to turn the relay ON. After the Set pulse, the relay stays (latched) ON. A pulse on the RESET coil turns the relay OFF, and it stays OFF. The attached schematic shows wiring with driver transistors and protection diodes. Though I have not tried this, I think it will work. If you are used to using normal, single coil, non-latching relays, these may complicate things for you.

Ken
    425 x 257 - 16K
  • ValchrisValchris Posts: 3
    edited 2008-01-18 18:09