Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Radiometrix BIM-433 Transceivers for use with the Propeller — Parallax Forums

Radiometrix BIM-433 Transceivers for use with the Propeller

ChemikalChemikal Posts: 32
edited 2008-01-12 17:10 in Propeller 1
I was just given two Radiometrix BIM-433 Transceivers for use with a Propeller project I have been working on... to make the Propeller able to be controlled wirelessly. I am relatively new to wireless work and the Prop (love it), so I am requesting some help with getting these to communicate with the Prop nicely.

The remote Prop will not need to have a lot of bandwidth... just temperature values, switches, and maybe some stepper motor commands for a future project.

My main goal is to be able to control the remote Prop from my computer... so currently I am guessing I will need a separate Prop at each end, with one end linked into the computer via hyperterminal.

So, after looking around online, I found their main write-up for it: http://www.radiometrix.co.uk/products/bimsheet.htm

From what I can see, that pretty much lays it all out... that page has a sample hook-up and all the details for the programming, but I am unsure how to incorporate that into the Prop... I was told these transceivers do the preamble, etc on-board, and that it just required a serial feed in half-duplex... but I will need a confirmation and definitely some help with the coding.

Thank you so much,
- Josh

Comments

• ChemikalChemikal Posts: 32
    edited 2008-01-12 04:34
    anyone have experience or the know how to make this half-duplex connection?
  • LeonLeon Posts: 7,620
    edited 2008-01-12 07:57
    I got a couple of those a few years ago but never got round to trying them with data. I just tested that I could transmit and receive between them.

All the details you need are in the "RS232 Serial Data" section. You have to do the preamble etc. yourself, it isn't built-in. You should be able to use the serial code in the Object Exchange.