Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Mosfet selection - Please help — Parallax Forums

Mosfet selection - Please help

computer guycomputer guy Posts: 1,113
edited 2008-01-28 13:39 in Propeller 1
Hi there

A project I am working on involves switching a 24v AC source I have come to the conclusion that a mosfet would probably be the best way to switch a relay on and off to control the 24v.

However I am new to using mosfets and have no idea how to select the appropriate type.

One other thing how can I power the propeller from that same 24v AC source, Obviously a Bridge Rectifier will be needed to convert the source to DC but what about the voltage drop from 24V to 3.3v?

Thank you smile.gif

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Check out my robot using the propeller RECONAUTOR

Comments

• Phil Pilgrim (PhiPi)Phil Pilgrim (PhiPi) Posts: 23,514
    edited 2008-01-08 00:38
    Because of the large voltage drop, I would use a switching pre-regulator (see www.cd4power.com) to get down to 5V or so, followed by a linear 3.3V post-regulator. Using a bridge rectifier with a filter capacitor on your 24VAC, you will want a switching regulator that can handle a 24-34V input range.

-Phil
  • BTXBTX Posts: 674
    edited 2008-01-08 00:50
    Computer guy.
    Why not an optocoupler with a diac integrate into, like the MOC3041/42/43 plus a triac to avoid using the mosfet-relay ?
    Also a simple BC548 (not mosfet) or a BS170, could drive the relay too (you don't specify the current contacts of the relay, neither the coil characteristics).

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Regards.

Alberto.
  • RinksCustomsRinksCustoms Posts: 531
    edited 2008-01-08 01:40
    While designing this contraption of yours it's good practice to choose components rated for twice the wattage, (voltage and or current) that will pass through them, that way you won't endanger your project or maybe even yourself.