Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Basic <-> Asm help required — Parallax Forums

Basic <-> Asm help required

magnetmagnet Posts: 13
edited 2008-01-03 15:41 in Propeller 1
Hi from a total newbie.

I took the plunge and bought a DIP chip education pack to play around with. After draining several 9v batteries I found a regulated 7.5v 0.86VA mains adaptor in my "bits box" to use and am assuming this will be suitable to power my projects without damage for the future?

The first program I wrote, a port of a C program I have running on my main computer, failed despite "looking fine" to me... Lesson #1 learnt! Forget old habits.

Now to my request:
As there is no screen output from the chip circuit, I am using known data input values and results that trigger a row of LEDs to signal the code has performed correctly and has found the correct solution. However, as with all interpreted languages, speed is slower than this chip can deliver if coded using assembler, so to get me started can someone tell me if the following 2 bits of code do exactly the same thing please so I can start to get a grip on the syntax...

{{spin code}}
r001 += f101
carry := 0
if r001 > 999
  carry := 0
  r001 -= 1000

{{assembler ??}}
DAT
                org             0
add_f       adds           r101,f101
                movs          carry,#0
                cmps          r101,#v999      wc
if_a          movs          carry,#0
                subs            r101,#v1000

r101        long            1234
f101        long            5678
carry       long            0
v999        long            999
v1000      long            1000

Some pointers to working assembler code would be appreciated.

Happy New Year
magnet

Comments

• AleAle Posts: 2,363
    edited 2008-01-01 19:58
    Magnet:

The labels referenced in assembler do not need the # (excet when they are destination of jm or call).
    # is only used when the value you want is going to be used as literal.

Example:

add v1,v2

v1 long 3