Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Propeller autopilot - newbie help — Parallax Forums

Propeller autopilot - newbie help

Joshua SiegelJoshua Siegel Posts: 51
edited 2008-01-13 17:45 in Propeller 1
Hi everyone,
I'm a newbie to the propeller but OK with basic stamps and I've tinkered with the SX48 (thought I must admit I never did like it).
I had a question about feasibility for a project I'm trying to hammer out fairly quickly. I want to make an autopilot system utilizing a 5Hz GPS, accelerometers, and some potentiometers. I have the layout and logic in my head, but not a clue as to how to program in spin or even if I'm approaching the use of cogs properly - some guidance would be greatly appreciated.

What I have laid out so far to code is as follows:

Cog 0 - PC in/out (w/ interrupts)
-Take input string from PC in form of:
PWM1,PWM2<CR><LF>
and update variables for each in each cog
-Take variables from other cogs and output in form of:
LAT,LONG,VELO,ACT_HEADING,COMP_HEADING,ACCEL1,ACCEL2,ACCEL3,POT1,POT2

Cog 1 - GPS in/out (w/ interrupts)
-Configure GPS at startup (serial out, send a few commands)
-Read and parse NMEA to update LAT,LONG,VELO,ACT_HEADING (this is at 5Hz)

Cog 2 - read analog sensors
-0-5V accelerometer (x 3 axes) (ACCEL1,ACCEL2,ACCEL3)
-0-5V potentiometers (x 2 pots) (POT1,POT2)

Cog 3 - read digital sensor
-HM55B compass x1 (COMP_HEADING)

Cog 4 - PWM out
-using PWM1,PWM2 values from PC. eventually may be a PID process - this should be easy to implement once the rest comes together

EVENTUAL:

Cog 5 - Video out with vitals.

Cog 6 - log waypoints to SD card.