Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Which LCD module should I buy for the Prop? — Parallax Forums

Which LCD module should I buy for the Prop?

Brian LBrian L Posts: 60
edited 2008-01-26 18:26 in Propeller 1
I'm new to the prop and was wanting to play with one of the LCD displays, and prefer a cheap one for now. I see Parallax has a couple of 2x16 serial ones for 30 bucks, a 2x16 parallel one for 30, and a 4x20 one for about 36 bucks. I figured some of you guys probably have experience with most or all of these and could guide me into one that works well with the Prop and is already well supported with some nice objects in the library. Any thoughts on what I should get?

Thanks,
Brian

Comments

• deSilvadeSilva Posts: 2,967
    edited 2007-12-31 03:56
    The typical 2x16 uptp 4x20 or 2x40 LCD displays are generally based on the 44780 driver chip. They all have (nearly) the same 16 pins connectors. I shall link one of the many threads discussing that matter
    http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=682817

They are available in the millions throughout the world, for as low as $8. I would recommend Marcel's driver but the others work as well...

Post Edited (deSilva) : 12/31/2007 4:01:07 AM GMT
  • DroneDrone Posts: 433
    edited 2007-12-31 09:52
    Hi Brian,

Welcome! IMHO you can't go wrong with the Parallax 4X20 backlit serial LCD, Item code 27979, on sale right now for $35.95 USD. It is only $6 USD more than the 2X20 backlit serial LCD and I think you'll find the extra two lines are most welcome when using the display for debugging. I recommend you use the "debuglcd" program from the Propeller Object Exchange with your LCD. Here's the link to debuglcd:

obex.parallax.com/objects/40/

There are two minor things I don't like about the Parallax 4X20 LCD: