Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
X,Y Camera Tracking System or other words Pan&Tilt Tracking System ... — Parallax Forums

X,Y Camera Tracking System or other words Pan&Tilt Tracking System ...

wperkowperko Posts: 66
edited 2006-06-02 04:31 in General Discussion
cool.gif Hi,

I'm new to the world of STAMPs ... and I have a couple of projects I want to create and am here to poll for help ...

Primarily I want to build a system that controls a Pan & Tilt dual servo setup for a small platform holding as many as three video cameras to track moving objects in the sky.

I've been thinking either an optical tracker or maybe an aural tracking system ... or maybe both for redundancy ???

Maybe the system could track an ultra-high pitched whistle inside the moving object (R/C airplane or R/C car etc...) or a set of specific frequency LEDs all around the object?

So, anyway, I'm open to ideas ...

I'm very new to the STAMP system ... but do know BASIC programming reasonably well ...

I've started with the "Basic Stamp 2 USB Discovery Kit" ... so far I have 4-servos under very simple control to amuse my pet Cockatiels ... basically 4-hands waving at different intervals at the birds ...

So, if anybody can give me more clues on my journey I'd appreciate it ... smilewinkgrin.gif

Comments

• Tom WalkerTom Walker Posts: 509
    edited 2006-04-26 17:51
    I think that the "front-end" of this is going to be your problem. Somehow, you will have to devise a sensor (or most likely, an array of sensors) that can give you meaningful information about the location of a distant object. Are you designing this "distant object"? More information will be required.

Once you can get good information on the object's location (including the time domain), working servos is a relatively easy task (assuming no great speed is necessary).

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Truly Understand the Fundamentals and the Path will be so much easier...
  • wperkowperko Posts: 66
    edited 2006-04-26 18:42