Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Hexcrawler R/C Question-batteries — Parallax Forums

Hexcrawler R/C Question-batteries

DonWDonW Posts: 37
edited 2004-12-02 12:06 in Robotics
I am just getting started on the R/C Hexcrawler project..using the Tower Hobbies R/C controller, with wireless camera.

As I dig into laying everything out, I am trying to come up with a way to charge batteries without having to remove them, or even, preferably, charge them one by one.

I am thinking of a few possibilities, be it just having a "charge/run" switch, or possibly an inline jack that does the switching for me when I plug it in...

Before·I reinvent the wheel, wanted to toss the question out there to see what has already been made to work.

Comments

• Ken GraceyKen Gracey Posts: 7,386
    edited 2004-11-30 06:29
    Hello Don,

The power supply I used in my HexCrawler is shown on page 5 of this document: www.parallax.com/dl/docs/prod/robo/HexCrawlerRC.zip.·I used two 7.2 V batteries in parallel for the wireless video transmission (required 12-14V) with a center tap for the BOE/BS2/Servos at 7.2V. As it works out the current draw drains both batteries at about the same time (1.5 hours of use). I put a nice power switch on the top of the Boe-Bot to turn everything off easily without making a bunch of disconnects. I bought the "charger side" connectors (I think they are called Standard Tamiya style) from Tower Hobbies so that I could quickly disconnect the batteries from the BOE/RF devices and charge them.

A copy of the schematic is shown below, plus a picture of the robot with the power switch.

There is no need to remove the batteries from the HexCrawler to charge them if you keep their R/C connectors. Simply disconnect, hookup the charger and away we go. . .no tricks here but I think the key lies with having the·male conenctors for a wiring harness which·mate with the "standard Tamiya" style connector on the batteries.

Hope this helps.

Ken Gracey
    Parallax, Inc.