Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Help! Motor Setup Problem — Parallax Forums

Help! Motor Setup Problem

Hello! I have recently been building the Elev8 Quadcopter drone (version 2, I know, I am rather late for this whole party)
But I've come across a problem that I have no idea on how to fix.
And since I am not very experienced in building RC models, I suspect it will be a very beginner-ish problem.

Anyway, I am at the step of configuring the motor spin direction, where I plug in the ORX T Six transmitter and receiver.
The receiver/ motor should beep a while, then connect to the transmitter, then just start working, right? Without all the beeping?
Well, instead of connecting and going silent, the motor begins to beep annoyingly.
It's hard to describe in words, so here is a short video:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lVle4U9ZhFI&feature=youtu.be

What on earth is happening?
May I please get some help with this?
Thank you very much!

Regards,
SpartanEngineer

Comments

• PublisonPublison Posts: 12,366
    edited 2016-01-31 15:27
  • It's possible that whatever transmitter you're using has a reverse throttle range, IE the throttle goes from 2000 to 1000 instead of the other way around. (Older Futaba radios did this, and some newer ones do too). Plugging the radio in with the throttle up will generally be interpreted as either "enter program mode" or "set the throttle range", and either one will beep at you like crazy. :)

See what happens if you put the throttle stick all the way up before you turn it on. If it behaves as you expect it should normally, just reverse the throttle channel in the radio and you should be good to go.

J
  • Thank you for your very quick replies, and I apologize for my rather belated update.
    I have trouble following the tutorials for setting up the ESC (I am a beginner when it comes to transmitters)