Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Looking for Recommendation :: RS-232 to RS-485 adapter for PC — Parallax Forums

Looking for Recommendation :: RS-232 to RS-485 adapter for PC

JonnyMacJonnyMac Posts: 8,957
edited 2007-09-20 16:25 in General Discussion
Looking for a RS-232 (prefer DB-9 connector) to RS-485 adapter for a Christmas lighting control project. Thanks for any suggestions.

Comments

• StarManStarMan Posts: 306
    edited 2007-09-12 00:39
    I have limited experience (and knowledge) of serial communications but I did a fairly large project last year with RS-485 that was ethernet to RS-485.· I ended up using some units by Comtrol but I found ATEN during my search.· They have a lot of data communications stuff.· Here is a link to something that might·get you closer·to what you want.· http://www.aten.com/products/productItem.php?pid=20050224145727005&psid=20050117105110002&pcid=20050107104648001&layerid=subClass8

Chris I.
  • kelvin jameskelvin james Posts: 531
    edited 2007-09-12 05:16
    www.commfront.com/CommFront-Home.htm

Not cheap, but specs look pretty good.
  • LoopyBytelooseLoopyByteloose Posts: 12,537
    edited 2007-09-12 10:10
    You need to consider more detail.

Do you want Half-Duplex or Full-Duplex?
    Do you want to include other control/handshaking signals?
    Do you want electrical isolation?
    Do you need nearly +12/-12 swing or can you get buy with far less?

Do you want to make your own boards or buy a packaged deal?

There are some good DIY projects, but FULL-Duplex really requires two pairs of RS-485 wire, not one pair.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    "Everything in the world is purchased by labour; and our passions are the only causes of labor." -- David·Hume (1711-76)········
    ···················· Tropically,····· G. Herzog [noparse][[/noparse]·黃鶴 ]·in Taiwan
  • pwillardpwillard Posts: 321
    edited 2007-09-12 17:40