Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Ds 1302 auto detection before programming — Parallax Forums

Ds 1302 auto detection before programming

hmlittle59hmlittle59 Posts: 404
edited 2007-09-04 04:30 in General Discussion
Hello All,
First this is a copy for help I sent to Mike and Chris, from the Private form. I'm new to MC and this form is taking some getting use to.
Sorry for not being to clear, the demo program works find. I've modified it some and all is still working well. The DS1302 chip returns a value of $80 when NOT programed(this seems to be consistent), but after I read this value the ds1302 locks up...I capture the Seconds location twice with a PAUSE 3000 in between. If values are different, then I assume the clock is running(all is swell). If values are the same ($80) then GOTO setup clock routine with defaults or input routine but this is were it locks up.
All this is before being programmed.
QUESTIONS:
1) How can I verify that it's not initialized...not running?
2) Is there a Bit to check and see if it's not-running?
3) In case my board resets it can avoid loading default time.
4) I used the readburst routine from the demo(long/short format of time&date)

thanks again for your time and effort

howard m little
ps. my other messages in the public seems to be floating out there in space some where.

Comments

• Skywalker49Skywalker49 Posts: 172
    edited 2007-09-03 12:35
    Howard,

a bit confusing .. you write "I've modified it some and all is still working well" and later you say that the DS1302 locks up after the read. So what is working well ?

I have no problems with the DS1302.
    Can you share the code and scheme that you use ?

Thx, Ed
  • hmlittle59hmlittle59 Posts: 404
    edited 2007-09-03 17:22
    Hello Skywalker49 and all,