Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Newbie on SX chip — Parallax Forums

Newbie on SX chip

nlopesnlopes Posts: 4
edited 2007-08-09 03:51 in General Discussion
Hi everyone. I wrote an email to pre-sales support and they suggested I ask some of these questions here on the SX forum. So, here goes:

I'm new to programming microprocessors and have been seriously looking into purchasing a development kit to get started on some projects. To be honest, I was looking at going straight to PICs using a 3rd party compiler (such as Proton). However, after visiting the Parallax forums and doing a little reading, I'm interested in the SX chip. It's low cost like a PIC and seems to have all the power I may need. The thing that scares me is that I have little knowledge of assembly, although I'm very familiar with BASIC for the PC, so I feel comfortable with the statements I would use (such those for the Stamp). Since there is an SX/B compiler which allows me to program the SX in BASIC, it makes it seem like a good way to start. My questions are related to a project I want to create:

1). I'd like to create my own "sprinkler timer" which would be a small board that will contain an LCD, keypad, and maybe a rotary switch. I think the LCD and keypad would use serial communication to the processor. Can I connect all of these items to an SX chip (SX28AC/DP-G) as I probably would a BS2? Basically, I'm looking for ease of use in connecting and working with these.