Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Emulation power — Parallax Forums

Emulation power

mekrackermekracker Posts: 1
edited 2007-07-06 15:46 in Propeller 1
·· I'm new to this chip and i was wondering could 1 or 2 chips emulate the older consoles, like nes, snes, genesis, ect? i'm trying to make a cheap uneversol consol for my kids so i don't have to let them kill more of my old games.

······ Any info would be great thanks.

Comments

• Dennis FerronDennis Ferron Posts: 480
    edited 2007-07-06 04:57
    IIRC, at least two people were working on a Commodore 64 emulators. Haven't heard any news from them on the forums in a while but things seemed to be going well last we heard.

I can only imagine that writing an emulator would be hard work. If your goal is to write one you will certainly have fun doing it and will learn a lot. But it will take you longer than you expect and it isn't reasonable to expect to write emulators for every system all at once - just one would be a major project. If you are hoping to use emulators others have written, it might be a long wait.

OTOH, if your goal is simply to provide a game system for your kids, you are much better off getting a cheap mid-range PC and running the game emulators on that instead. I've seen people put PC's into arcade machines to make a PC emulator system that has an arcade look to it. While the Propeller is certainly technically capable of emulating at least an NES, and probably a Super Nintendo or Genesis, the issue is software. There is already PC software that emulates all these systems. Software for the Propeller to do this may never be written, or it may take many years to be written.
  • RinksCustomsRinksCustoms Posts: 531
    edited 2007-07-06 06:23