Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
modify the Parallax GPS code? — Parallax Forums

modify the Parallax GPS code?

CCraigCCraig Posts: 163
edited 2007-06-21 14:45 in General Discussion
I think somebody needs to talk me down. I'm fairly new to the SX, but here it goes.

Anyone modify the Parallax GPS code? Any warnings/hints?
·
I want it to just send: Valid signal code, Latitude and Longitude (from the GPRMC string). I don’t even need E/W, N/S as the app. is land based on this continent.· I wanted Date and Time also (for logging), but I’m worried about data lengths and date/time stamp would be candy.
·
Am I wasting my time because the data comes around fast enough as it is?· AND the data is only coming out of the GPS side once a second. I saw someone’s name in there. Any thoughts? (besides: “You should get back to your project and stop messing with the stuff that already works&#8221[noparse];)[/noparse]
·
I'm guessing I can’t up the baud rate due to the oscillator?
·
My idea is this: My app can start listening, sync on the Valid Code (“A”=valid or “V”=invalid)*, get the numbers and get back to work. I think I’m going to put the date/time stamp on the end of the output string for future use.
·
The GPS unit would continuously send my output string, updated or not. If a program poles for data too fast, there will be a lot of old data duped as new data from the GPS radio side has not been received yet. I will add code if the radio fails/times out, it will catch it.

Anyone solder pins to the GPS unit to attach the Key?
·
Every time I start to do this, I hear a tiny voice in my head say:
·
“STOP…, put the soldering iron DOWN…, raise your hands and back slowly away from the bench.”
·
TIA, Chris
·
* V=invalid, aren’t we supposed to use correct mnemonics? or is this GPS thing a Gov’t project?

Comments

• JonnyMacJonnyMac Posts: 8,943
    edited 2007-01-25 17:15
    I've done it -- in fact I wrote about it in Nuts & Volts magazine.