Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Matrix Orbital 0821 driver questions — Parallax Forums

Matrix Orbital 0821 driver questions

hydoskeehydoskee Posts: 10
edited 2007-06-17 20:08 in Propeller 1
This is my first time trying to write something like this, but I have a Matrix Orbital 0821 display that I'm trying to interface with the propeller chip.
The data sheet for the LCD is here: www.matrixorbital.ca/manuals/LCDVFD_series/LCD0821/LCD0821_140.pdf

I have a few questions about how to go about this project:

1. Is the rx/tx on the LCD -> Prop side necessary, or can I get by using just the Prop tx -> rx LCD connection.
2. What's the proper propeller syntax/object to send byte data? For example, the BASIC command to clear the screen is PRINT#1,chr$(254);chr$(88), and I'm not 100% sure how that translates to spin. I tried making a DAT block and BYTE objects containing these, and then using Simple Serial's tx method to put it up, but I just got jibberish.

Thanks for any suggestions or resources you can point me to!

Comments

• Paul BakerPaul Baker Posts: 6,351
    edited 2007-06-11 18:26
    Has the TTL modification been done, what speed are the jumpers set to?

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Paul Baker
    Propeller Applications Engineer

Parallax, Inc.
  • hydoskeehydoskee Posts: 10
    edited 2007-06-11 18:30
    No modifications, and I think the speed jumpers are set to 19_200.
    edited 2007-06-11 18:32
    And you had this working with a stamp?

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Paul Baker

Parallax, Inc.
    edited 2007-06-11 18:33
    I've been able to get it working with an atmega8, not a stamp, though.
    edited 2007-06-11 18:37