Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
displaying video — Parallax Forums

displaying video

Daniel MeeksDaniel Meeks Posts: 2
edited 2007-06-15 22:28 in Propeller 1
Hey all I'm new to the forms and I just ordered my Propellor chip and clip!
·· What I want to do is send digital video data(mpeg4) from my computer to the usb to the propellor and out to a vga monitor. I've lurked the forms and seen a lot of impressive vga stuff but I haven't read of anyone sending real videos( like a home video or something). For clarification the video isn't going to be stored on· the propellor kinda streamed from the computer.·Anyways I'm just wondering how hard this would be with the propellor, thanks for any help.
·

Comments

• Paul BakerPaul Baker Posts: 6,351
    edited 2007-06-15 15:43
    Is your plan to have the Propeller do the mpeg4 decoding or would another chip provide that function? I've never dealt with mpg4 streams so I dont know how complex the decoding process is. But please keep us updated with your project, it's very interesting.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Paul Baker
    Propeller Applications Engineer

Parallax, Inc.
  • Lord SteveLord Steve Posts: 206
    edited 2007-06-15 15:45
    MPEG4 decoding at any reasonable frame size is beyond the current Propeller.
  • Daniel MeeksDaniel Meeks Posts: 2
    edited 2007-06-15 15:48
    ok, what format would be the easiest read for the chip as I can change that programmatically from the computer. Thanks for the quick responses guys.
  • Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2007-06-15 16:01
    This is not likely to work for you for several reasons:

1) The built-in video hardware only supports a limited number of colors for each pixel. Although there are ways around that, they are messy and require a lot of understanding of the video hardware and assembly language, etc.