Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
GPS Module; Prop Demo Board Questions — Parallax Forums

GPS Module; Prop Demo Board Questions

mre_robmre_rob Posts: 31
edited 2007-05-30 21:56 in Propeller 1
I am in the process of stating my first Propeller project. I am new to Spin, but have tons of programming experience interfacing with devices and building device drivers.

Connecting GPS·SIO to P0 thru a 1k resistor, GPS Vcc to 5V and GPS Gnd & /raw·to Vss

with the following spin code:

<code>
OBJ
· vga:"VGA_Text"
· Serial· : "Simple_Serial"
CON
······· _clkmode······· = xtal1 + pll16x
······· _xinfreq······· = 5_000_000

VAR
· long rx, tx, baud
· long x
· byte b
······
Pub Start
··· Serial.start(0,-1,9600)
··· vga.start(16)
··· b:=$0D
··· repeat
····· x:=Serial.rx
····· vga.str(string("Data: "))
····· vga.out(x)
····· vga.out(b)·
</code>

I get no output. When I comment out - 'x:=Serial.rx, I get "Data: " printed on the VGA display.

I basically just need the raw stream for later processing in other objects.

Any direction would be appreciated, until then I'll keep reading....

Thanks,
Rob.

Post Edited (mre_rob) : 5/11/2007 1:22:07 AM GMT

Comments

• fishfish Posts: 55
    edited 2007-05-11 01:32
    Hi Rob,
    The baud rate for the Parallax·gps module is 4800 I believe, so try that and see if you get anything.

Good luck
    fish
  • AribaAriba Posts: 2,682
    edited 2007-05-11 05:50
    Try to use FullDuplexSerial instead of Simple_Serial. I had some problems with receiving, when I tested the Simple_serial.
    If you only use Simple_Serial because you can switch off the Transmitter, then you can also use my SerialReceive (appended).
    It is just a half FullDuplexSerial, extended by a 9 Bit mode.

Andy
  • Chris SavageChris Savage Parallax Engineering Posts: 14,406
    edited 2007-05-11 19:35
    Rob,

Please see the following thread. I posted some sample code to interface to the GPS Module within the thread. I hope this helps. Take care.