Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
INPUT: How To — Parallax Forums

INPUT: How To

Fry'n ICsFry'n ICs Posts: 11
edited 2007-04-21 20:25 in General Discussion
I'm new to the SX and I'm having trouble getting info into the SX.

I have the Professional Development board and have plugged a wire from one of the push buttons into RA.0. It is my understanding that the push button has a pull up resistor and goes low when pressed.

Here is my code:

DEVICE········· SX28, OSC4MHZ, TURBO, STACKX, OPTIONX
FREQ··········· 4_000_000
ID············· "SXB 1.50"

PROGRAM Start

Start:
· input RA.0
Main:
· watch RA.0
GOTO Main

When I click the debug button, the Watch window shows RA.0 as 0 (zero) regardless of whether or not a push the button.
I've tried other pins and other buttons, but I can't ever get the input pin to read 1. Am I using the INPUT function improperly? Or perhaps I am using the Watch function wrong? Please help [noparse]:)[/noparse]

Comments

• JonnyMacJonnyMac Posts: 8,959
    edited 2007-04-17 05:19
    You need to add a breakpoint to your program; change your WATCH directive as follows, then add a break after it:

\ WATCH RA.0, 1, ubin
    \ BREAK

Start the program in Debug mode, then select Poll; the watch window should change to indicate any changes on RA.0. BTW, all pins default to input, so you don't even need that INPUT line in your program. Do it like this:

Start:
      \ WATCH RA.0, 1, ubin
      \ BREAK
      GOTO Start

Post Edited (JonnyMac) : 4/17/2007 5:24:38 AM GMT
  • Fry'n ICsFry'n ICs Posts: 11
    edited 2007-04-18 03:49
    I've entered the code you gave me... but when I click the debug button to run the program in debug mode, the poll button is grayed out (disabled). I tried re-installing the software, but that didn't work. Any suggestions as to how to get the poll button working?
    edited 2007-04-18 04:20