Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Can the Stamp do anything "Useful"? — Parallax Forums

Can the Stamp do anything "Useful"?

stevelsstevels Posts: 19
edited 2007-04-10 23:10 in General Discussion
Hello Forum,
·
I am an experienced programmer, but novice Stamp user.· I am trying to make a simple experimental device and I keep coming up short on PBasic and what appear to me to be limitations of the Stamp to do anything remotely useful.· Please take no offense – I am assuming it is me that is the problem. ·I am hoping you can point me to some good resources.
·
Are there any examples anywhere of “useful” PBasic programs that do some basic stuff most people need to do? ·For example, I would love to see some PBasic that supports an LCD menu that is navigated by, say, several push buttons, accepts a potentiometer as an input for adjusting values of speeds for timers and such.
·
While I am able to make all the components work on their own, like the LCD, the buttons, and so on, when I try to make a useful application, I keep falling short and I am assuming it is due to my own incompetence with this product.
·
And for the love of Pete, how can you do anything useful if you can not write functions and pass variables to them?· How can you even pass a string to a subroutine?
·
WAAAHHH!
·
Any help would be greatly respected!
·
Thanks,
·
Steve

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Expert in many fields, dumb as a stump with STAMP

Comments

• FranklinFranklin Posts: 4,747
    edited 2007-04-10 01:24
    www.parallax.com/html_pages/downloads/siccurriculum/documentation_sic_curriculum.asp
    and
    www.parallax.com/html_pages/downloads/nvcolumns/Nuts_Volts_Downloads.asp
    and this one impressed me. http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=547856
    are good places to start, you'll get ideas and branch out on your own soon.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    - Stephen
  • QuattroRS4QuattroRS4 Posts: 916
    edited 2007-04-10 09:30
    I have found the stamp to be very 'useful' ...