Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
would i be able to do this with a sx28? — Parallax Forums

would i be able to do this with a sx28?

infinkcinfinkc Posts: 9
edited 2007-02-13 00:20 in General Discussion
i have·4 different (hi/lo) inputs that i want to input to the chip and one output needed

*edit read below
any help much appreciated, im just starting out with programing the sx chips. im use to doing pics.

Post Edited (infinkc) : 2/12/2007 2:52:02 PM GMT

Comments

• Chris SavageChris Savage Parallax Engineering Posts: 14,406
    edited 2007-02-09 17:50
    Hello,

·· This is just simple logic so it would be very easy for an SX to do. There are a few ways to implement it, but if you make a truth table it should make things much easier when you write the code.· Take care.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Chris Savage
    Parallax Tech Support
  • Chris SavageChris Savage Parallax Engineering Posts: 14,406
    edited 2007-02-09 18:32
    Not unless you’re doing anything timing dependant, such as serial I/O. You could just use the internal RC Osc for this project. Take care.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Chris Savage
    Parallax Tech Support
  • JonnyMacJonnyMac Posts: 8,941
    edited 2007-02-09 21:28
    If you're just looking for one combination for a true output, it's as easy as:

Main:
      IF RB = %00111111 THEN
        RA.0 = 1
      ELSE
        RA.0 = 0
      ENDIF

This is not very elegant looking, it's just to demonstrate the point. It also assumes you've made RA.0 an output.
  • Clock LoopClock Loop Posts: 2,069
    edited 2007-02-11 00:39
    infinkc said...
    do i need the 10k resistor on MCLR if im using this chip by itself? power will be applied when turned on.

you can prolly get away with just connecting it to +5v.. I think the resistor is used to protect the SX from power malfunctions.