Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Interrupt for reading encoder? — Parallax Forums

Interrupt for reading encoder?

ClintClint Posts: 95
edited 2007-02-08 03:17 in General Discussion
I'm new to the SX (coming from Basic Stamp) and don't understand what the interrupt is all about. Can someone explain it or direct me to some place that explains it?

I am using SX/B for something similar to the encoder example shown in the SX/B help. The example·uses an interrupt for reading·an encoder and updating a display. Why use an interrupt rather than include these functions in the main program?

Thanks for any help.

Comments

• thoseythosey Posts: 7
    edited 2007-02-07 22:28
    Okay, since an encoder can go faster than the speed of a complete scan of a program taking into account all the long loops and so on you are able to use an interrupt so that you do not miss a pulse count.·Think of this as a subroutine that can be set up either on a time base or an event base like a pin is triggered high.

If your encoder is very slow updating and the programm runs faster than the encoder you might not need to do this with an interrupt.· Example a 15 cpr encoder that turn over every 15seconds might not need an interrupt. Since the program should be able to handle this.· But wouldn't you like to go into an interrupt routine every time a new pulse occurs.· This way you make sure that you handle all of your counts from the encoder.
  • JonnyMacJonnyMac Posts: 8,943
    edited 2007-02-07 22:56
    Since I wrote that demo, I'll answer: the program uses a 3-digit, 7-segment display that is best handled with an interrupt (multiplexing). By putting the encoder material in the interrupt it's handled automatically and the encoder value is refreshed at a known rate.
  • ClintClint Posts: 95
    edited 2007-02-07 23:57
    thosey said...