Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Performance (and other newbie ?'s) — Parallax Forums

Performance (and other newbie ?'s)

DogPDogP Posts: 168
edited 2007-01-31 23:10 in Propeller 1
Hey,

I'm new to Propeller, but I'm familiar with microcontrollers, programming, etc. What I'm looking for is a good way to get TV and/or VGA output from a framebuffer stored in RAM (would be external to the Propeller). I've looked at a bunch of products to do this, and for the most part nothing has been powerful or cost effective enough to do this. I'm just a hobbiest looking to learn something new and create a video output that I've been wanting to make for years [noparse]:)[/noparse] . Looking at the screenshot of the racing game on the Hydra, it appears that this may be able to do what I want.

Anyway, I've looked through some documents and searched the forum, but I haven't really seen anything about the performance of these chips. Ideally, I'd like 50 frames/second, but I realize that there's a lot of data to be passed, but 25fps is really the minimum that would be useable. The buffer is about 20kbytes (384x224x2bpp). How fast is reading data from the I/O pins to internal memory? The data is transmitted sporadically at 20MHz, I assume I couldn't read the data directly into Propeller's memory at those rates, correct? I'm planning on using some simple logic chips to write it to SRAM, which can then be read and output to a display at the microcontroller's pace. Spin doesn't look too difficult to learn, and I assume I'd probably need some routines in ASM, I'm just wondering if this is even remotely possible.