Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Text errors help — Parallax Forums

Text errors help

Gizmo_Gizmo_ Posts: 5
edited 2006-12-07 17:23 in Propeller 1
hi,
Im a student running the propeller program in my engineering class and i am having some difficulty reading the text

For some un-explained reason the text in the propeller tool editor program is cutting off letters and adding spaces in-between the letters, My operating system is Windows xp professional and weve had this problem on more than one computer, And i was wondering if anybody else has encounterd this problem and has found a solution.

Thanks for the help

Comments

• Chris SavageChris Savage Parallax Engineering Posts: 14,406
    edited 2006-11-30 18:33
    Hello,
    ·
    ·· Does the computer have large fonts enabled?· Are you using a non-english version of Windows XP?

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Chris Savage
    Parallax Tech Support
  • Jeff MartinJeff Martin Posts: 751
    edited 2006-11-30 18:38
    Hi,

So far, we've only seen this happen in the Japanese edition of Windows XP but haven't heard of it happening in any other version.· As of this time, we are unsure how to fix it but we do know that upon the Propeller Tool "asking" the OS for the Parallax font (a font that is installed with the Tool), the OS returns the metrics of the Parallax font, but returns the glyphs of the Courier font (or some similar font).· The results are letters that are truncated and overlapping.

Are you using a special localized version of Windows XP Professional?·

Do you have any OS-level preferences set that may apply to this?· Such as localized "regional" settings?

What version of the Propeller Tool are you using?

Thank you.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    --Jeff Martin

· Sr. Software Engineer
    · Parallax, Inc.
  • Gizmo_Gizmo_ Posts: 5
    edited 2006-11-30 19:05
    We are using a stand alone system, with windows xp professional 2002 with service pack 2 installed