Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Any DAC examples for the propeller using SPIN? — Parallax Forums

Any DAC examples for the propeller using SPIN?

automatonautomaton Posts: 12
edited 2006-11-13 16:11 in Propeller 1
I just recently acquired a propeller chip for a project that I need to do complete (I chose it for the multiple cogs so I can do something else in the chip while I have a DAC running on another cog). Anywyas, I have to create a DAC and I am trying write in the SPIN language. I see lots of assembly examples for this, but seeing as how I am just learning the ins and outs of the chip...

I was wondering if there are any SPIN code examples for this or if someone can point me in the direction of an object to use?

Thanks.

Comments

• T ChapT Chap Posts: 4,198
    edited 2006-11-11 23:10
    look in the propeller tool examples folder the ad8803 demo may help
  • M. K. BorriM. K. Borri Posts: 279
    edited 2006-11-11 23:43
    A cheap way to do this (I used to do that with a parallel port) is to get powers-of-two resistors (8 ohm, 16 ohm... to 2k ohm) and connect them to, say, pin 0 to pin 7, then connect them all together and amplify that a bit, mostly so the prop sees high impedance (the cheap radio shack audio amplifier will do the trick), you can drive a headphone with that. Just write bytes to outa and there you go, 8 bit audio!
  • automatonautomaton Posts: 12
    edited 2006-11-12 00:11
    MK,

I am aware of the the old 8-bit DAC parallel port hack... but that port is being used for something else and I need more functionality than a parallel port can provide. I need to accept analog input on several of the pins and do some low frequency digital out on several of the pins.

So I can't use too many of the pins. I was thinking of using the a single resitor, and a capacitor in the following fashion....

PIN 0 ---/\/\/\/\
    >Analog output between 0 and 3.3 V