Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Car stereo interface — Parallax Forums

Car stereo interface

Matt MCMatt MC Posts: 1
edited 2006-09-11 02:29 in Propeller 1
Let me first say I have an AS degree in Electronics that I have never used. I also have some programming experience. I don’t mind spending the time learning and doing the programming for this project but I would definitely need help on the electronics portions.

What I want to do is be able to use the propeller to take input and send output to and from my Sony deck unit through the CD changer controller, information on the hardware and commands can be found here gnunilink.sourceforge.net/. By doing this I can use the buttons on the deck unit to control stuff and display text on the deck unit, but first the display.

I would like a small color display, like this store.earthlcd.com/s.nl/it.A/id.893/.f?sc=7&category=6. What would be an easy & cheap LCD between 2.5 and 5 inches I could use? Or other option is to only use the Sony deck unit for display, but not as much fun.

Applications: 1. Take input from the oxygen sensor (.2v to .8v typical range) to display an air/fuel mixture ratio. 2. Take input and display from any number of analog sensors. 3. Saving this for last, control a module for playing mp3s. I don’t expect the propeller to play mp3s, but control a separate module such as the ump3 here info.hobbyengineering.com/specs/ROGUE-UMP3-110-A1-100-1.pdf. The problem with this is how would I display the track information? Controlling the ump3 module doesn’t appear to be a problem though.