Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Seeking C compiler for Propeller — Parallax Forums

Seeking C compiler for Propeller

Joel RosenzweigJoel Rosenzweig Posts: 52
edited 2006-08-29 01:43 in Propeller 1
I'm totally new to the Propeller scene as of this week.· I've been using PIC processors for several years in some production devices that I make.· They work great.· But an 8 core SMP device really caught my attention.· So I had to have one to play with.· My Propeller stick arrived this week, so·I started to port an application of mine as a test bed.· I figured that if it could handle my test workload, then the Propeller would be adequate for my future development purposes.· I spent a few hours porting the application over and had great success with that.· Debugging over a television monitor was a riot and reminded me of debugging software on my Atari 800.· There's a certain cool factor to that.·

At any rate, I'm checking in to see if anyone knows of either an existing C compiler, or plans to create a C compiler for the Propellor?· The Spin language is workable, but a C compiler would make my time even more efficient.·· I paid $150 to CCS for a PIC C compiler.· I'd be happy to purchase a tool in a similar price range for the Propellor if it were available.

Thanks,
Joel-

Comments

• Kevin WoodKevin Wood Posts: 1,266
    edited 2006-08-27 15:51
    There isn't one. Maybe somebody is planning one???
  • LoopyBytelooseLoopyByteloose Posts: 12,537
    edited 2006-08-27 19:33
    You may be hoping to find for penguins at the North Pole.
    The world just isn't quite like that.
    The halcyon days of C are fading.

Why pay $150 for an IDE when you can have SPIN for nothing? It is just about the easiest language that one can hope for. And, you really need to have something that is quite close to the hardware as the Propeller is unlike any other hardware.